second time around

A recent book I’ve read (and re-read… twice) is Cinder by Marissa Meyer. I’m a big sucker for young adult books, especially in the fantasy genre, partly because I’m trash and partly because I just love the “first time” experience that usually accompanies young adult stories (like first kiss, first crush, first love, first kill, etc.). So I had been seeing the title floating around on Goodreads for ages but every time I read the synopsis, I just wasn’t feeling it. Maybe because it had a hint of science fiction and I really, really dislike science fiction. But finally, I decided to force myself to read it and man, oh man, was I unprepared for the amount of love that developed in my small, five-foot-two body.

This book messed me up. I became obsessed. I couldn’t stop talking about it. I made my boyfriend read it, even after promising him that it was totally not his style. Like this book possessed me in a way I didn’t know I could be possessed. I’ve experienced my fair share of obsessions (Final Fantasy, Hana Yori Dango, Harry Potter, Two Dots) but this love was on another level. My whole life suddenly revolved around Cinder, Kai, and Lunars. I needed to read every book as quickly as possible. The devastation I experienced after discovering the final book of the series was not to be released til 2016 was indescribable.  Just kidding. I can describe it. It was awful. I cried. I went and found fanfiction. I was so unsatisfied with the fanfiction I found that I contemplated writing my own. Instead, I went ahead and messaged my friend in New York to tell her she absolutely had to read the book because I had to talk about it to someone or else I would die. She took her sweet time reading it and if I’d been true to my word I probably would have died before she finished but I’m a liar and I desperately wanted to talk to someone about it, so I waited.

The story is easy enough to guess through the first few chapters. The characters are relatively refreshing but nothing inspiring or innovative (except that our heroine, Cinder aka Cinderella, is a damn CYBORG). The setting is interesting but not so elaborate or well-painted that the images appeared like paintings in my mind. Nothing like that. But it was so good. I was hooked. I was rooting for my main girl Cinder. I even liked the antagonist, badass Levana. Like I was all over the place with this book. I wanted to know every single detail about every single character on every single page. I could not have enough.

Consumed my life. Could barely teach my students without wanting to fall to my knees crying about Kai and Cinder. I wish I were exaggerating. I might be a little. I can’t really remember because those few days I first spent reading the series are a serious blur of emotion.

Anyway, I recommend the book. Don’t think it’s gonna blow your socks off, but man will you be entertained. And slightly invested.

If you’re crazy like me and want to talk about the awesomeness that is The Lunar Chronicles, please comment below because I’ve read the book about three times and like I still have a lot of emotions. Can you tell from this rambling garbage?

One thought on “second time around

Leave a Reply

